Healing prayers

For ourselves

Healing Prayer of Surrender

Dear Lord Jesus, it is my will to surrender to you everything that I am and everything that I’m striving to be. I open the deepest recesses of my heart to you and invite your Holy Spirit to dwell inside of me.

I offer you my life, heart, mind, body, soul, spirit, all my hopes, plans and dreams. I surrender to you my past, present and future problems, habits, character defects, attitudes, livelihood, resources, finances, medical coverage, occupation and all my relationships.

I give you my health, disabilities, physical appearance, home, family, marriage, children, sexuality and friendships. I ask you to take Lordship over every aspect of my life. I surrender to you all my hurt, pain, worry, anxiety and fear, and I ask you to wash me clean.

I release everything into your compassionate care. Please speak to me clearly, Lord. Open my ears to hear your voice. Open my heart to commune with you more deeply. I desperately need to feel your loving embrace. Shut the doors that need to be shut and open the doors that need to be opened. Set my feet upon the straight and narrow road that leads to everlasting life. Amen.

{Source}

Healing of body, mind and soul

Lord, You invite all who are burdened to come to you. Allow Your healing Hand to heal me. Touch my soul with Your compassion for others; touch my heart with Your courage and infinite Love for all; touch my mind with Your Wisdom, and may my mouth always proclaim Your praise. Teach me to reach out to You in all my needs, and help me to lead others to You by my example. Most loving Heart of Jesus, bring me health in body and spirit that I may serve You with all my strength. Touch gently this life which you have created, now and forever. Amen.

{Source}

For others

Prayer for healing and comfort

Heavenly Father, giver of life and health: Comfort and relieve your sick servant (name), and give your power of healing to those who minister to his needs, that he may be strengthened in his weakness and have confidence in your loving care; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen.

{Source}

Healing prayer

Dear Lord of Mercy and Father of Comfort,

You are the One I turn to for help in moments of weakness and times of need. I ask you to be with your servant in this illness. Psalm 107:20 says that you send out your Word and heal. So then, please send your healing Word to your servant. In the name of Jesus, drive out all infirmity and sickness from his body.

Dear Lord, I ask you to turn this weakness into strength, suffering into compassion, sorrow into joy, and pain into comfort for others. May your servant trust in your goodness and hope in your faithfulness, even in the middle of this suffering. Let him be filled with patience and joy in your presence as he waits for your healing touch.

Please restore your servant to full health, dear Father. Remove all fear and doubt from his heart by the power of your Holy Spirit, and may you, Lord, be glorified through his life.

As you heal and renew your servant, Lord, may he bless and praise you.

All of this I pray in the name of Jesus Christ.

Amen.

{Source}

For pets*

Prayer for a sick pet

Heavenly Father,

Please help us in our time of need,

You have made us stewards of (name of pet).

If it is Your will, please restore him (her)

to health and strength.

I pray too for other animals in need.

May they be treated with the care and respect

deserving of all Your creation.

Blessed are You Lord God,

and holy is Your name for ever and ever.

{Source}

How to pray for the sick

Free Anglican “Healing Prayer: A How-To Guide for Prayer Ministry Teams” PDF.

And this:

To that end, then, I want to encourage you to be faithful to follow Jesus’ lead and James’ command to pray prayers of healing for the sick every time you encounter someone who is ill. One way to do that and to avoid getting freaked out in the process is to learn a simple prayer of healing that you can grow into.

Read the rest of it here.

– – – – –

*Pet people will understand why I included this.

Also see:

9 thoughts on “Healing prayers

  1. Pingback: PRAYER REQUEST FROM PEOPLE IN NEED MINISTRIES IN INDIA « CHRISTIAN NOTIONS

  2. Pingback: Prayer Bible Study Outline For Small Groups « S.E.A. of Galilee Fellowship Study

  3. Pingback: Believe!!!!! « Sex, Spirit, Soul Mates and Chocolate….Ivonne's Journey

  4. Pingback: Healing for the Sick « Prayer Works Cafe

  5. Pingback: A PRAYER FOR OUR NATION AND ITS LEADERS « Vine and Branch World Ministries.com

  6. Pingback: Storm…”Sandy!”… « MKG- Memories-Keepsakes-Gifts

  7. A wonderful collection of prayers–thank you for gathering them together and for sharing.
    Thanks also for following “What’s The Good Word?” Blessings to you ~ Laura

  8. Pingback: Rev Mike Endicott on faith, healing, sandwiches | your mess, His Message

Leave a comment