Ash Wednesday

Lent

Today is Ash Wednesday, which marks the beginning of the forty days leading up to Easter, known as Lent. Traditionally Lent is a time of prayer, penance, denial and preparation. Fasting, whether from certain kinds of food or certain activities, is common, though not universal; a practice based on Jesus’ time of testing in the desert.

Lately I’ve been struggling with spiritual apathy, so I’m going to use this time to recommit to Jesus and to renew my faith and passion for Him. It’s encouraging to know that as of today, people worldwide are doing the same: refocusing on Christ in gratitude for what He did for us on the Cross.

I hope that this Lenten season will bring you closer to God :).

Love,

Liana xx

6 thoughts on “Ash Wednesday

  1. I came across your page while looking for information on this time. I too have been struggling with getting back to my faith. You brought tears to my eyes when reading what you wrote for today. Actually tears of joy, knowing that I am not alone. Thank you for bringing a smile to my face and hope that I too will regain my spirituality during this wonderful season of Lent. Sometimes the smallest message is more than five hundred pages in a book. Thanks and have a blessed day!

    • Thanks Rhonda! I’m so glad you found it helpful. It’s funny, I was just considering deleting the post when the e-mail about your comment came through. He’s an amazing God :) Stay blessed!

  2. Pingback: HOW DID THE FORTY DAYS OF LENT COME INTO BEING? « VINE AND BRANCH WORLD MINISTRIES.COM

  3. Pingback: Lent | karensunhumbleopinion

  4. Pingback: Reflection for the Start of Lent – from a Fellow Blogger « From the C-Sweet

  5. Pingback: Forty Days | stophereiwannagetoff

Leave a Reply

