Reblog: Saying Good-bye to Old Friends and the Me I Used to Be

I do remember, as I entered into the life of a practicing Christian, that I thought that I wouldn’t be like the other Christians. I wouldn’t lose the friends I had before I converted. I would be cool. Nothing was going to change. I was going to keep on being the same person I had always been, believing the same things I had always believed.

[…] I didn’t reckon with the transformative power of the Holy Spirit. God didn’t seem to mind if I wanted to begin my Christian life by being cool. He just didn’t pay much attention to it. At that stage, he didn’t seem to be trying to change what I did. He was changing what I wanted to do.

 

See if you recognise your first few years as a Christian convert in the rest of this article: Saying Good-bye to Old Friends and the Me I Used to Be.

One thought on “Reblog: Saying Good-bye to Old Friends and the Me I Used to Be

  1. Pingback: Reblogged from a Friend: Closing a Chapter in My Life | THE SCARECROW

Leave a Reply

