Reblog: God Is Not A Christian: Desmond Tutu And The Dalai Lama’s Extraordinary Talk On God And Religion

“But the glory of God is actually mind-blowing. He can sit and not intervene because he has such an incredible, incredible reverence for my autonomy. He is prepared to let me go to hell. Freely. Rather than compel me to go to heaven.

“He weeps when he sees us do the things that we do to one another. But he does not send lightning bolts to destroy the ungodly. And that is fantastic. God says, ‘I can’t force you. I beg you, please for your own sake, make the right choice. I beg you.’

“When you do the right thing, God forgets about God’s divine dignity and he rushes and embraces you. ‘You came back, you came back. I love you. Oh how wonderful, you came back.’”

via God Is Not A Christian: Desmond Tutu And The Dalai Lama’s Extraordinary Talk On God And Religion.

5 thoughts on “Reblog: God Is Not A Christian: Desmond Tutu And The Dalai Lama’s Extraordinary Talk On God And Religion

  1. I read the whole article but came away feeling a little unsettled…I don’t doubt Bishop Tutu’s strength and faith…but I felt there was a lot of talk about “Religion” and ‘God’ but not any of Jesus Christ…directly…There seemed to be an avoidance of that aspect…and why did he say ‘God is not a Christian’…God is God but the believers in Christ of course are Christians…so I don’t understand his reason for saying this. Bishop Tutu is from my denomination so maybe that’s why I feel okay with saying this.

    Obviously many will take from the conversation different opinions,,that is just mine….Diane

    • I think he meant “God is not a Christian” in the sense that God transcends religion, which is what they were discussing. And while he doesn’t directly mention Jesus Christ I think it’s implied in his comments about God’s vulnerability. Still, that’s just my opinion. I know his theology sometimes makes people skittish, but I like how he always emphasizes God’s love.

      Honestly I just enjoyed reading about these two respected religious leaders and how they interacted! :) They respected and enjoyed each other’s company. It wasn’t about ‘being right’; it was about learning. Very inspirational.

Leave a Reply

